timeline item
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
This entry was funded by
More like this
© 2020 Engineering Timelines
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Stone Jetty, Morecambe
The Promenade, Morecambe, Lancashire, UK
Stone Jetty, Morecambe
associated engineer
Richard Smallman
date  1853 - 1855 or 1856, 1990s
UK era  Victorian  |  category  Jetty  |  reference  SD426646
ICE reference number  HEW 1751
photo  ICE R&D Fund
One of two maritime structures built by the North Western Railway at Morecambe, Stone Jetty is today an integral part of the local coastal protection works. The single storey building on the end of the jetty was an early railway station.
Stone Jetty can be found on Morecambe's Promenade, opposite the later Midland Hotel, and was originally built for the 'Little' North Western Railway Company as a wharf and rail terminal for both passenger and cargo transport. Richard Smallman (1816-1873) was the railway's engineer from April 1851 to March 1858.
An earlier wooden pier, also constructed by the railway company, once stood just east of Stone Jetty. Both had rail lines on them. The wooden pier dated from 1850 was was constructed under the railway's then engineer, John Watson. It has since been demolished.
The wall of Stone Jetty are vertical and constructed of closely-fitting sandstone blocks. The walls reach 10m above the sand at the seaward end. The overall length of the jetty is 250m. Its average width along the neck is 25m and at the head, 40m, where there is a small lighthouse of similar stone construction, and the former station, now a tearoom.
Chambers were incorporated into the body of the jetty to enable it to be used for loading and unloading at various states of the tide — which at Morecambe has a high range of over 10m, with the possibility of extreme storm surges of 2-3m.
A stretch of the western face of the jetty, some 180m long, is protected by rock armour. This was replenished after storm damage in 1988. During the late 1990s, the surface of the deck was re-laid in patterned coloured concrete and new seating, lamp standards and railings installed.
research: PHEW, with thanks to Reg Bond
“Obituary: Richard Smallman” in Minutes of ICE Proceedings, Part 2, Vol.36, pp.278-280, London, January 1873
reference sources   ICE / INCH

Stone Jetty, Morecambe