timeline item
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
This entry was funded by
More like this
© 2020 Engineering Timelines
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Guide Bridge Station, M&BR
Guide Lane, Guide Bridge, Manchester, UK
Guide Bridge Station, M&BR
associated engineer
George Watson Buck
date  November 1841
UK era  Victorian  |  category  Building  |  reference  SJ924975
photo  ICE R&D Fund
Guide Bridge Station was built as the terminus of the Heaton Norris branch of the Manchester & Birmingham Railway an early standard gauge line that ran between Manchester Store Street (later Piccadilly) and Crewe North Junction. George Buck was the line's chief engineer.
When it opened in 1841, the Guide Bridge Station consisted of a wooden shelter with a clock lighting came later. It was then called Ashton & Hooley Hill, becoming Ashton in 1842 and Guide Bridge in 1845.
From that date, Guide Bridge was also a station on the route of the Sheffield, Ashton-under-Lyne & Manchester Railway, and an important junction on the trans-Pennine route through Woodhead Tunnel. A line to Oldham, built by the Oldham, Ashton & Guide Bridge Junction Railway, opened in 1861. The station also had freight handling capability.
The station building and the freight marshalling yards were enlarged in 1873-4.
Through services to Sheffield ceased in 1970, and the station has been for local use since closure of the main branch line in 1981. There are now just two platforms. Part of the station building and the footbridge were destroyed by arson in 2006, although the separate luggage bridge remains.
Research: PD
"Past and Present", Audenshaw Local History Society Magazine, Issue no.9, January 2010, available in PDF at www.audenshawlocalhistory.org

Guide Bridge Station, M&BR