timeline item
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
© 2020 Engineering Timelines
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
St John's Wood Railway
Baker Street to Swiss Cottage, London, UK
associated engineer
Sir John Fowler
date  April 1868, 1879, 1880
UK era  Victorian  |  category  Railway  |  reference  TQ278821
The earliest section of St John’s Wood Railway ran between Baker Street and Swiss Cottage in central London. It was a branch line to the Metropolitan Railway — the world's first underground passenger railway. The line now forms part of the London Underground system.
St John's Wood Railway was laid as single track standard gauge (1.435m between rails), with one passing place at St John's Wood Road, which later became the Underground station at Lord's Cricket Ground. Sir John Fowler was responsible for the design of the railway, assisted by Benjamin Baker.
The passenger service proved so popular that in June 1879 the line was extended to West Hampstead, to Willesden Green in November 1879 and to Harrow-on-the-Hill in 1880. Freight services began and several goods yards were built.
St John's Wood Railway was absorbed into the Metropolitan Railway (also by Fowler) in 1882. In the same year, the railway acquired a 117 hectare works site at Neasden and built a staff estate — known as Neasden Village. By 1885, the line had reached Pinner.
There have been many subsequent additions and extensions to the route of the St John's Wood line. This stretch of London's 'tube’ system is now part of the Metropolitan and Jubilee lines.
Assistant engineer: Benjamin Baker
Research: ECPK
Obituary, Sir Benjamin Baker
Proceedings of the Institution of Civil Engineers, London, 1907
"Underground to Everywhere" by Stephen Halliday
Sutton Publishing Ltd, London, 2001

St John's Wood Railway