timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Bude Sea Lock
River Neet, Bude, Cornwall
associated engineer
James Green
James Meadows Rendel
date  1823, 1835
era  Georgian  |  category  Locks  |  reference  SS204064
ICE reference number  HEW 1066
Bude Sea Lock and Wharf plus a short length of barge canal from Bude to Helebridge are all that remains of the Bude Canal, which was once some 56km long and ran to Launceston. It was designed by James Green and commissioned by Earl Stanhope.
The lock lies at the seaward end of the canal, providing access for shipping to the canal basin, wharves and the canal itself. Mostly 70-100 tonne merchant sailing ships used the facilities.
Work on the canal began in 1819 and the sea lock was completed in 1823. The lock had timber gates and was protected by a breakwater, which improved the harbour area generally and was undertaken by Green (1791-1849) as part of the canal project.
The sea lock was reconstructed and enlarged in 1835 by James Meadows Rendel (1799-1856) after it suffered storm damage. The lock new diemsions are 3.5m long and 9m wide, with a 2.9m depth of water over the sill, which enabled vessels of up to 300 tonnes to enter the basin. The original breakwater was destroyed and replaced by a longer stone and rubble structure.
In 2000, the sea lock was refurbished completely, including the installation of new sills and two new sets of lock gates, at a cost of some 500,000. The project was funded by the European Union, English Heritage, North Cornwall District Council, Bude Stratton Town Council and the Inland Waterways Association.
Research: ECPK
reference sources   CEH SouthBDCE1BDCE2
Location

Bude Sea Lock