timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
This entry was funded by
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Jubilee (Walney) Bridge
Walney Channel, by Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria
Jubilee (Walney) Bridge
associated engineer
Sir Benjamin Baker
A.C. Hurtzig
E. M. Wood
date  1905 - 30th July 1908
era  Modern  |  category  Bridge  |  reference  SD186686
ICE reference number  HEW 2015
photo  Malcolm Sutherland / ICE R&D Fund
Jubilee Bridge (also known as Walney Bridge) spans the Walney Channel between Barrow-in-Furness and Walney Island. Using a technology similar to that of a domestic rocking chair, it was one of only four Scherzer rolling-lift bridges in the country when it was built in 1908.
Originally a toll bridge, Jubilee Bridge was designed by Sir Benjamin Baker and A.C. Hurtzig, with the detailed design work being undertaken by E.M. Wood. The main contractors, Sir William Arrol & Co Ltd started construction in 1905.
The total length of the bridge is 343m, with eight fixed lattice girder spans of up to some 5m each. The bridge is 15m wide between parapets, the fixed spans being supported by twin cylinders filled with concrete and capped by girders. The cylinders are some 5m in diameter at their bases.
The bridge has a lifting section to allow the passage of ships, the technology of which operates like a rocking chair, the lifting section rolling back when it opens at the same time that the centre rises. This allows the same width of opening to be obtained with a smaller angle of rotation.
The lifting section comprises two opening steel plate girders some 5m deep at their pivots and 5m deep at the centre, providing a clear opening of 37m. The opening section uses the Scherzer rolling lift principle via electrical equipment supplied by Crompton & Co Ltd.
The bridge tolls were lifted in 1935, by which time the 175,000 cost had been paid off. Cumbria County Council has spent 1m on the bridge recently, replacing steel and repainting it in its original black and gold colour scheme. The completion of this work was timed to coincide with the bridge's centenary 30th July 2008.
Contractor: Sir William Arrol & Co Ltd
Arrol Chief Engineer: Adam Hunter
Research: PD and AJD
reference sources   CEH North
Location

Jubilee (Walney) Bridge