timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
This entry was funded by
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Eamont Bridge
River Eamont, Penrith, Cumbria
Eamont Bridge
associated engineer
Not known
date  possibly 1425, possibly 16th century
era  Medieval  |  category  Bridge  |  reference  NY521287
ICE reference number  HEW 986
photo  Paul Dunkerley / ICE R&D Fund
The name of the village of Eamont Bridge is of Roman origin and means 'river meeting'. The village is host to many historic structures, including the bridge itself — once known as the bridge of Amont — which now carries the road from Penrith to Shap.
There is some confusion over the date of the bridge. According to Jervoise, it was built in 1425, when Bishop Langley granted indulgences for the building of a "new stone bridge across the waters of Amot". It replaced a pre-existing bridge mentioned in the Calendar of Inquisitions as early as 1291. However, according to other sources, including The Cumbria Directory, it's not medieval but Tudor, dating from the 16th century, with some later alterations.
Whichever is correct, Eamont Bridge is one of the oldest bridges in the district. It has three segmental arches, with a total span of more than 36m. The width between parapets is nearly 6m, as the bridge has been widened since its construction. The piers are some 3m wide, with triangular cutwaters on both faces that continue up to parapet level to form pedestrian refuges. There is a blocked-up additional arch at the north-western end of the bridge.
Each of the bridge's spans has a double ring of arch stones, and each arch originally had four ribs. Two more were built when the bridge was widened. There remains some concern that the bridge is too narrow for modern use. It now has a single-lane traffic system and a steel footbridge by Tubewrights Ltd of Newport has been added on the downstream side.
Nearby are the remains of two stone henges — Mayburgh and King Arthur's Round Table.
Research: PD and AJD
bibliography
"The Ancient Bridges of the North of England" by E. Jervoise
EP Publishing Limited, 1973
www.thecumbriadirectory.com
Location

Eamont Bridge