timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
This entry was funded by
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Underley Hall Bridge
River Lune, Underley Estate, near Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Underley Hall Bridge
associated engineer
Not known
date  1872 - 1875
era  Victorian  |  category  Bridge  |  reference  SD608807
ICE reference number  HEW 2628
photo  Paul Dunkerley / ICE R&D Fund
A Grade II listed masonry bridge located over a bend in the River Lune. Privately built, possibly to allow access between nearby Underley Hall and Barbon station, it has several Gothic features, including gargoyles and mock towers.
The bridge has two main river spans of 21m, each with four ribs and 4m rise. There is an additional northern storm channel some 6m wide with two ribs. The spans are segmental with two voussoir rings, the lower in limestone and the upper in red sandstone. At the northwest end of the bridge there is a curved masonry training wall to guide storm flows into the northern storm channel span.
The pier between the storm channel and the central span rests on the river bank. It has a pointed cutwater on its upstream face only, as has the river pier. The piers for the river spans are carried up to parapet level as quarter or half circular mock towers with castellation. This feature is also used on the parapet walls. The half circular mock towers on the river pier form pedestrian refuges.
The voussoirs of the two main channels have heavy chamfers. The voussoir rings support horizontally coursed limestone masonry carrying projecting stringcourses on stone corbels. The parapet walls are castellated, with overhanging capstones.
The storm channel has much smaller chamfers on the voussoirs, a less prominent stringcourse and a different castellation detail. Collapsed masonry on the downstream side of the storm channel and a recent stone repair indicate that the damage was to the parapet.
At the northern end of the bridge the parapet walls terminate in octagonal pillars with reticulate patterns on their panels. At the southern end of the bridge there are quarter circle mock towers with stone steps and arrowslits. The deck is 4m wide between the rounded inner edges of the stringcourses. Stone water gutters on either side of the metalled decking discharge water through bear's head gargoyles.
The bridge was probably designed by Paley & Austin of Lancaster, who designed other bridges in the area, including the 1880-1883 Caton Lune Bridge. Privately owned and used, it can only be approached and viewed by the public via a footpath along the east bank of the River Lune.
Southeast of the bridge is Underley Hall, designed by George Webster, and for many years a seminary for Catholic priests called St. Michaels College.
Architect: possibly Paley & Austin, Lancaster
Research: PD and AJD
bibliography
www.whittingtonvillage.fsnet.co.uk
Location

Underley Hall Bridge