timeline item
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
This entry was funded by
More like this
© 2020 Engineering Timelines
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Rawthey Bridge
River Rawthey, A683, northeast of Sedbergh, Cumbria, UK
Rawthey Bridge
associated engineer
Not known
date  after 1614
UK era  Stuart  |  category  Bridge  |  reference  SD712978
photo  ICE R&D Fund
Rawthey Bridge is a fairly high single arch bridge. It is constructed of small rough rusticated stones in horizontal courses, with pillars at the end of the parapets.
The bridge is 6m in width. Around the arch there is a single ring of voussoirs, above which on either side is a slightly different coloured stone panel. These were reputedly carved to represent a head, though this is now indistinct due to age and weathering. There are no footways.
The original, timber Rawthey Bridge was destroyed by flooding. After detailing its repairs in 1584-1586, the court of Quarter Sessions recorded in 1614 that the bridge had been “utterly ruinated and carried away by the greatnesse of ye floods”. There was also reported to have been considerable loss of life as “40 persons have within a small space been ether drowned”. The bridge was subsequently rebuilt in stone.
Rawthey Bridge now carries the A683 Sedbergh to Kirkby Stephen road over the River Rawthey about 8km northeast of Sedbergh. South-south-west from Rawthey Bridge, the A683 follows the valley of the river downstream on its eastern bank as far as Straight Bridge. North-east from Rawthey Bridge, the A683 follows Sally Beck.
Rawthey Bridge Stone Circle used to stand about 1km south of the bridge at approximate map reference SD 710970, but it has long since been destroyed.
Research: PD
"The Ancient Bridges of the North of England" by E. Jervoise, EP Publishing Ltd, Wakefield, 1973

Rawthey Bridge