timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
This entry was funded by
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Maryport Lighthouse (1846)
Maryport Docks, Maryport, Cumbria
Maryport Lighthouse (1846)
associated engineer
Not known
date  1846
era  Victorian  |  category  Lighthouse  |  reference  NY030368
ICE reference number  HEW 965
photo  Paul Dunkerley / ICE R&D Fund
An elegant octagonal cast iron lighthouse, thought to be the first of its construction type built in England and possibly one of the world's oldest cast iron lighthouses.
It is believed that the first light at Maryport was established in 1796. Indeed the harbour's history is long — the ruins of the Roman fort of Alvana stand in a nearby field. However, it was not until the second half of the 18th century that the town became of note and the major dock works began.
The cast iron lighthouse dates from 1846, the same date as the towns' timber pier. The lighthouse is sited on a bend in the dock wall, at the start of the pier, and is now disused. Its function was taken over by a concrete tower on the end of the pier, now in turn replaced by a short pyramidal aluminium tower (1996) that runs on mains electricity and is administered by Trinity House.
The old lighthouse is 9.75m high and sits on a 3.5m diameter octagonal masonry base. It is maintained by Maryport Harbour & Marina.
Research: PD and AJD
bibliography
"A History of Maryport, AD79-1900" by N. Jackson and M. Jackson
"Lighthouses" by D. Hague and C. Christie
Gomer Press, Llandysul, 1975
www.trinityhouse.co.uk
reference sources   CEH North
Location

Maryport Lighthouse (1846)