timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
St Anthony's Lighthouse
St Anthony Head, Portscatho, Cornwall
associated engineer
Olver of Falmouth
date  May 1834 - April 1835
era  Georgian  |  category  Lighthouse  |  reference  SW845312
ICE reference number  HEW 884
St Anthony's Lighthouse marks the eastern approach to the extensive inlet known as Carrick Roads. It was built to alert shipping entering Falmouth Harbour to two dangerous hazards — Black Rock in the centre of the channel and The Mancles, a goup of rocks south of the inlet entrance.
The lighthouse is said to have been constructed by Olver of Falmouth — probably Thomas and Jacob Olmer who built Trevose Head Lighthouse — and was done on behalf of Trinity House, the organisation responsible for lighthouses in England and Wales.
The octagonal stone tower with lantern and gallery is 19m tall, with an attached two-storey keepers' house. The whole group is painted white. The lantern is 22m above Mean High Water.
Originally, light was provided by eight argand oil lamps, which were later changed to pressure vapour lamps. Mains electricity was connected to the lighthouse in 1954 and the lamp was changed over at that time.
The present lamp is a 1500W first order fixed Fresnel lens. It flashes white and red every 15 seconds, 7.5 seconds on and 7.5 seconds off. The red sector faces south-sou'east as a warning for The Manacles. The white sector has an intensity of 210,000 candela and a range of 41km, while the red sector has an intensity of 42,000 candela and a range of 37km.
Before electrification, the fog warning signal was given using a large bell that hung outside the tower. This was replaced in 1954 by a Nautophone fog horn, mounted 10.7m above Mean High Water on a platform. The fog signal is three 3 second blasts every 30 seconds.
The lighthouse was automated in 1987 and is still run by Trinity House. The site and tower are closed to the public.
Research: ECPK
bibliography
www.trinityhouse.co.uk
www.unc.edu
Location

St Anthony's Lighthouse