timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
St Agnes Lighthouse
St Agnes, Isles of Scilly
associated engineer
Captain Symon Bayly
Captain Hugh Till
date  1680
era  Stuart  |  category  Lighthouse  |  reference  SV877083
ICE reference number  HEW 883
One of Britain's earliest extant lighthouses, St Agnes Lighthouse was built for Trinity House, the organisation responsible for lighthouses in England and Wales. It sits on the highest point of St Agnes, the south westernmost of the Isles of Scilly.
No longer in operation, the light was constructed in 1680 by Captains Hugh Till and Symon Bayly. Its white-painted conical stone tower is 23m tall. There are adjoining two-storey keepers’ houses, also painted white.
The lamp was provided originally by a coal fire without a lens, burning in a large open basket called a chauffer, which is now on display in Tresco Gardens. Approximately a century later the coal fire was replaced by an oil fire on a circular wick.
The lighthouse was decommissioned in 1911 and replaced in the same year by the automated Peninnis Lighthouse on the nearby island of St Mary’s.
The lighthouse is still owned by Trinity House and is used as a day mark by shipping. The keepers’ houses are now private dwellings, so the site is not open to the public.
Research: ECPK
bibliography
www.trinityhouse.co.uk
www.unc.edu
www.ukho.gov.uk
Location

St Agnes Lighthouse