timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Peninnis Lighthouse
Outer Head, St Mary’s, Isles of Scilly
associated engineer
Not known
date  1911
era  Modern  |  category  Lighthouse  |  reference  SV911092
Peninnis Lighthouse is a small automated light located at the southernmost tip of St Mary’s, largest of the Scilly Isles. It was built to replace the lighthouse on St Agnes — an island south west of St Mary's — which had been operating since 1680.
The lighthouse is of metal construction, with a tower 14m tall. The upper tubular part, comprising gallery and watch room, is painted white and the supporting structure of braced metal struts is painted black, as is the cupola. There is an adjoining one-storey equipment building. The lamp is 36m above Mean High Water and was powered originally by acetylene gas.
Engineering work was carried out in 1992 to convert the lighthouse to electric power. The present lamp is a 40W third order 500mm rotating lantern. It flashes white every 20 seconds with an intensity of 4500 candela and a range of 31km.
The grounds of the site are open to the public, though not the light itself. The lighthouse is operated by Trinity House.
Research: ECPK
bibliography
www.trinityhouse.co.uk
www.lighthousedepot.com
www.unc.edu
Location

Peninnis Lighthouse