timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Isle of Man Railway, Port Erin terminus
Port Erin Station, Port Erin, Isle of Man
Isle of Man Railway, Port Erin terminus
associated engineer
Henry Vignoles
date  1872 - 1st August 1874
era  Victorian  |  category  Railway  |  reference  SC197689
ICE reference number  HEW 834
photo  Paul Dunkerley
The remaining section of the Isle of Man Railway has its south-western terminus at Port Erin station. The island had at one time a narrow guage steam railway network, serving passengers, freight and mining interests.
The network was built by three companies that merged in 1904 to form the Isle of Man Railway — Isle of Man Railway Company, Manx Northern Railway Company Ltd and Foxdale Railway Company Ltd. They all built lines to the 3ft (914mm) narrow guage.
The first line ran from Douglas to Peel via St Johnís (18.5km), the second from Douglas to Port Erin (25.35km), the third from St. Johnís to Ramsey (26.55km), then St. Johnís to Foxdale Mines (4.8km), and Peel to Knockaloe.
For a short summary of the history of the Isle of Man Railway,
see Isle of Man, Douglas terminus.
The Port Erin line was constructed by the Isle of Man Railway Company, who appointed Henry Vignoles as company engineer. Henry Greenback acted as resident engineer. The contractors, Watson & Smith began work on the line in 1872 but abandoned it in July 1874, leaving the company to complete the work using direct labour. The line opened on 1st August 1874.
The Dougals to Port Erin line continues to run steam trains in summer months on its single track. There are passing lines at six stations. The orgial locomotives were all 2-4-0 side tank engines by Beyer & Peacock & Co. of Manchester, and some of these can be seen in the museum beside the station.
The closure of the Douglas to Ramsey line in 1965 led to the virtual collapse of the steam railway on the island, with only the Douglas to Port Erin line left open by the mid 1970s.
Resident engineer: Henry Greenbank (first two lines)
Main contractor: Watson & Smith, London (first two lines)
Research: PD
bibliography
"The Isle of Man Railway" by I. MacNab, revised J. Joyce
Ian Allan, London 1968
reference sources   CEH North
Location

Isle of Man Railway, Port Erin terminus