timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Rotherhithe Tunnel
from Limehouse to Rotherhithe, River Thames, London, UK
Rotherhithe Tunnel
associated engineer
Sir Maurice Fitzmaurice
date  1904 - 12 June 1908
era  Modern  |  category  Tunnel  |  reference  TQ354804
ICE reference number  HEW 2204
photo  Jane Joyce
Designed by the London County Council's engineer and enabled by an act of Parliament in 1900, the Rotherhithe Tunnel takes road traffic under the Thames from one entrance in Limehouse (pictured) to the other in Rotherhithe.
Construction began in 1904 with the sinking of four shafts, two each side of the river. These shafts remain, now now providing ventilation. The two closest to the river's edge were fitted out for pedestrain access and are fairly easy to spot with their red brick round entrance buildings. Inside, they have spiral iron staircases.
The distance across the river from shaft one to shaft four is 1.12 kilometres. The tunnel between is lined in cast iron. The entrance to the tunnel on the Surrey side is framed by the cast steel segments of the cutting edge of the tunnelling shield used for construction. In effect, this forms a loading gauge for the tunnel.
On both sides of the river the approach roads are first in open cuttings with retaining walls then sections of cut and cover lined with white glazed tiles. The picture shows the start of the cut and cover section on the north bank.
The tunnel was opened on 12th June 1908 by HRH The Prince of Wales.
Resident engineer: Edward H. Tabor
Contractor: Price & Reeves
reference sources   CEH Lond
Location

Rotherhithe Tunnel