timeline item
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Thorpeness Windmill
Thorpeness, Suffolk
Thorpeness Windmill
associated engineer
Amos Clark of Ipswich (millwright)
Ted Friend (millwright)
date  1923
era  Modern  |  category  Windmill  |  reference  TM466598
photo  Paul Dunkerley
OK, it doesn't look like a 'modern' mill. In fact this mill was originally built in 1803 at Aldringham as a corn mill. It was moved to Thorpeness in 1923 and converted for use as a water pump. Note the unusual ex water tower next door.
As built, this is a turret post mill — that is, it sits on a roundhouse. The conversion, carried out by the millwrights Amos and Friend, hasn't changed that but now it's a turret hollow post mill. The main post is now a circular cast iron pipe that carries the drive shaft down into the roundhouse. The whole assembly was used to pump water into the water tower from 1923 until WWII, when work ceased.
The mill was badly damaged in a gale in 1972. The fantail on the steps collapsed and the sails were damaged. These days, the roundhouse is home to a collection of local history, though the mill is in tact. The metal-framed water tower is known as the 'House in the Clouds' and has recently been converted into holiday flats.
The white painted roundhouse is eight-sided with a red tiled roof. The mill has four patent double shuttered anticlockwise sails, a three storey buck (body) with white painted horizontal weatherboarding, a semicircular wooden canopy over the rear door, and a rear ladder with an eight-blade fantail mounted on two wheels at the end.
Research: PD
"Southwold and Aldeburgh in Old Photographs" by H. Phelps
Alan Litton, 1997
reference sources   WofEWGEEngW

Thorpeness Windmill