timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Reigate Heath Mill
Reigate Heath, west of Reigate, Surrey
Reigate Heath Mill
associated engineer
Not known
date  circa 1753
era  Georgian  |  category  Windmill  |  reference  TQ233500
photo  Julia P. Arrowsmith
A restored turret post mill with a red brick roundhouse and a tarred roof. When it worked, it had two pairs of underdriven stones in the breast, with the Peaks on the left and French burrs on the right. The circular housing in the tail used to house a third pair of stones.
The mill has four anticlockwise double shuttered patent sails, 2.4m wide and 20m long, with weather varying from 5 to 30 degrees. The buck, or body, is clad in tarred horizontal boarding and has a curved gabled roof.
It is said to have been built round about either 1753 or 1765, though as a mill is shown on maps of both 1753 and 1762, it probably dates from round 1753. Grinding work ceased in 1870.
The deserted roundhouse was converted into the St. Cross Chapel in 1880, where services are held on certain summer Sundays. Ownership passed to a local golf club in 1906 but the local council has owned it since 1962.
A new sail was fitted in 1926. The buck was tarred in 1964 and oak steps and a pine tailpole were fitted, all by the council's direct labour organisation. Much of the internal machinery is still there, except the tail stones.
The mill is accessible via a public footpath.
Research: PD
bibliography
"Windmills in Surrey and Greater London" by A.C. Smith
Stevenage Museum Publications, 1976
reference sources   WofEWGE
Location

Reigate Heath Mill