timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
This entry was funded by
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Lambeth Bridge
River Thames, Lambeth, London, UK
Lambeth Bridge
associated engineer
Sir George Humphries
date  1929 - 1932
era  Modern  |  category  Bridge  |  reference  TQ302790
ICE reference number  HEW 2339
photo  Jane Joyce
The smart red colour scheme of the present Lambeth Bridge was chosen to reflect the colour scheme in the nearby House of Lords, part of the Houses of Parliament. You can just see the building's Victoria Tower behind the bridge on the right side of the photograph.
There used to be a ferry on this site, the memory of which is recorded in the name of Horseferry Road, one of the approach routes to the present bridge. The ferry was replaced by a suspension bridge authorised by an Act of Parliament of 1836. This bridge was designed by P.W. Barlow and built by the Metropolitan Suspension Bridge Company.
By 1929, the suspension bridge was in a sorry state. It had been plagued by troubles with rust and was now closed to vehicles. Sir George Humphries, then Chief Engineer to London County Council, engineered its replacement. This is the five-arch bridge we have today.
The bridge's arches are made of steel. They are faced with steel plating, which disguises the structure beneath. The supporting piers and abutments were constructed in concrete, faced with granite. The central span measures 50.3m, the two intermediates 45.4m and the two shore spans 38.2m. The whole bridge is 236.6m long and 18.3m wide.
Obelisks with pineapples on top mark the approaches to the bridge.
Architect: Reginald Blomfield, Topham Forrest
Contractor: Dorman Long & Co Ltd
reference sources   CEH LondBB
Location

Lambeth Bridge