timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
This entry was funded by
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Burn Naze salt works
Burn Naze, west of Cleveleys, Lancashire
associated engineer
Anon
date  1889
era  Victorian  |  category  Mining/Quarrying  |  reference  SD330441
ICE reference number  HEW 1351
In 1889, the Fleetwood Salt Co. Ltd. leased a section of salt marsh on the west bank of the River Wyre and proceeded to construct salt works ready to receive the brine they mined on the east bank, which was sent to the works through pipes laid across the river.
Salt production was a feature of the area around the mouth of the Wyre since at least the 16th century, when it was produced by the evaporation of seawater. Local methods progressed through brine pumping and rock salt mining to modern solution mining.
Boreholes were dug for brine mining at Fleetwood (1860) and Preesall (1875, 1876 onwards). In 1889, the Fleetwood Salt Co. gained a monopoly on local brine deposits and leased 445 hectares at Preesall for its boreholes. They laid the first pipe across the river and constructd the salt works at Burn Naze.
The company leased 9 hectares of marsh on which was constructed a 152.5m dam and eight stove salt pans with drying stoves. The dam was built by T Riley, who also laid the 250mm diameter river pipe for which Charles Beloe was the consultant.
Pumping commenced in 1890 and the first white salt was produced at Burn Naze on 25th February. The Fleeetwood Salt Co. was then bought out by United Alkali Co. Ltd.
In 1891, a futher 17 hectares were purchased at Burn Naze for the manufacture of carbonate of soda by the ammonia soda process. An additional 14 salt pans were built and the Wyre pipeline was replaced by rubber hose, and later replaced by wire armoured hose.
The Preesall salt works were built on the east bank of the Wyre some time around 1902. They closed in 1924.
River pipework design: Charles H Beloe (1889)
Contractor: T.Riley (1889)
Research: PHEW
reference sources   ICE / INCH
Location

Burn Naze salt works