timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Madingley Mill
Madingley, Cambridgeshire
Madingley Mill
associated engineer
Not known
date  rebuilt 1936
era  Modern  |  category  Windmill  |  reference  TL406595
photo  Peter Cross-Rudkin
This mill started life as a simple open trestle post mill at Mill Hill, Easton. It was later modernised, converted to a turret post mill and moved to Ellington, finally reaching Madingley, its present location, in 1936, when it was converted to a Midlands type post mill.
In its first incarnation, the mill had four anti-clockwise common sails and wooden machinery. Conversion to a turret post mill after its move to Ellington (between 1828 and 1835) gave it a two storey roundhouse. It then had four patent double-shuttered sails and a fantail fitted to the roof of the buck, or body, to drive a live curb. It had iron machinery and two pairs of underdriven stones on a hurst frame.
The move to Ellington was carried out by a Mr Rowlatt for James Measures. The mill remained with the Measures family until it stopped work around 1910. It remained derelict until 1935, when it was purchased by Colonel Harding to replace an old post mill at Madingley, which had ceased work in the 1870s and collapsed in 1909.
At Madingley, the rebuilt mill was given a single storey rendered brick roundhouse. A 'petticoat' projecting from the base of the buck forms its roof. The petticoat is a feature of Midlands turret post mills. The horizontally-weatherboarded buck is supported on eight rollers. The fantail was replaced by a tail pole with an iron wheel and fixed ladder, and shorter sails were fitted. A brass plate in the mill details the move and announces that "Mr C.J. Ison builder of Histon finished it 1st June 1936".
A unique feature of the mill is the double row of staggered teeth on the iron wallower and the wooden brake wheel, made of hornbeam. The 20cm cast iron windshaft is square where it meets the brake wheel. There is an iron mortised Great Spur Wheel and an iron stone nut with 30 cogs. The two pairs of underdriven stones, driven from an upright shaft, are in round vats on a hurst in the breast. The stones come out of gear by use of a chain rigger. There is a lantern damsel and a belt driven wire machine. The sack hoist is driven from the brake wheel by an iron pinion.
The mill you can see today has two common sails plus the frames for two patent anti-clockwise ones.
Research: PD
bibliography
"England's Vanishing Windmills" by A.E.P. Shillingford
Godfrey Cave Associates Ltd, London, 1979
"Windmills in Cambridgeshire" by A.C. Smith
Stevenage Museum Publications, 1975
reference sources   WofEWGEEngW
Location

Madingley Mill