timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
This entry was funded by
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Brentford Dock
south of High Street, Brentford, London, UK
Brentford Dock
associated engineer
Isambard Kingdom Brunel
date  1855 - 1859
era  Victorian  |  category  Docks/Slipway  |  reference  TQ178772
ICE reference number  HEW 2377
photo  Jane Joyce
Although the area has now redeveloped for housing, the dock basin at Brentford has been retained. Parts of Brunel's quay walls, tidal gate and one of the original water-line girder ex-railway bridges can be seen.
Brentford Dock served the interchange of goods between river barges running to and fro from waterside premises (and the port of London) with the railway network. The Great Western, Brentford & Thames Junction Railway was constructed to link the dock to the Great Western Railway at Southall. Part of its route can be seen today in the form of the road called Augustus Way. It was converted in the 1970s.
The quay walls are of composite brick and mass concrete construction with horizontal arches between counterfort piers - in other words, the piers are not visibly expressed. At the Thames River entrance is a large single-leaf tidal gate. A section of the original top beam, of wrought iron box construction, has been preserved.
The one bridge that remains now serves as a road bridge and carries traffic on Augustus Way across The Ham, a riverside road below.
The Act of Parliament enabling the construction of the dock dates from 1855. Brentford Dock closed in 1964.
Acting engineer: Davis Haskoll
reference sources   CEH Lond
Location

Brentford Dock