timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
St Annes Pier
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
St Annes Pier
associated engineer
A. Dowson
date  1885
era  Victorian  |  category  Pier, seaside  |  reference  SD317286
ICE reference number  HEW 1007
photo  Paul Dunkerley / ICE R&D Fund
St. Annes Pier, now truncated, is notable for the unusually English suburban architectural style of its entrance building, designed by J.D Harker.
As built in 1885, the pier was 945ft long and 21ft wide. Circular cast iron columns in alternate rows of two vertical and four raking columns supported four longitudinal wrought iron lattice girders and two bowed open-spandrel ones. The deck was composed of transverse timber joists and longitudinal boards.
The unusual gabled entrance lodge, built in a half-timbered style, dates from 1899 and is now Grade II listed. Harker had designed the 1875 Indian Pavilion on Blackpool North Pier and the 1893 pavilion on Blackpool South Pier, also in an escapist exotic oriental style. His reason for adopting a very suburban English style here at St Annes is unclear. Possibly it provided a greater contrast to the Moorish Pavilion subsequently built at the pierhead.
At the pierhead, a three-level 120ft x 90ft landing stage was constructed in 1891. The pierhead was enlarged 1903 and the Moorish Pavilion and a bank kiosk were built in 1904.
In 1910, the Tyrolean-style Floral Hall, using patent glazing by Henry Hope & Sons, was also built at the pierhead.
Windscreens were provided along the landward part of the neck. The remainder had railings in panels. The neck width was doubled in 1903 by the addition of extra piles and lattice fascia girders.
The Moorish Pavilion and the Floral Hall were both destroyed by fires in 1974 and 1982, cutting off the stump of the pierhead. The ruins were subsequently demolished and the neck truncated.
Entrance architect: J.D. Harker
Patent glazing (1910): Henry Hope & Sons
Research: PD
reference sources   SPSurvSPd
Location

St Annes Pier