timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Lytham Mill
Lytham Green, Lytham, Lancashire
Lytham Mill
associated engineer
Not known
date  1805
era  Georgian  |  category  Windmill  |  reference  SD369270
ICE reference number  HEW 769
photo  Paul Dunkerley
Lytham Mill is an excellent complete example of a tower mill on a circular podium, which houses the cellar, the roof of which acts as a reefing gallery.
The mill was built on the site of former post mill in 1805 by the first miller, Richard Cookson, using salvaged machinery, hence the misleading date inside: 1762 . A piece of leadwork bore the date 1663, and the upright central shaft read "This is called the upright shaft; it has done its work for 150 years". An additional millstone came from Wrea Green Mill in 1860.
Originally it had four common anticlockwise sails -- four patent anticlockwise sails were fitted in 1870. The mill had four pairs of stones and its walls are 5ft thick at the base and 2ft thick at the top, the average inside diameter being 26ft.
The sails ran the wrong way on New Year's Eve 1918/9, starting a fire that gutted the mill in the presence of the miller, William Swan, who had tenanted it for 25 years and had to be restrained from trying to put the fire out.
It stood derelict until 1921, when it was restored externally but with no machinery, though a brake-wheel and windshaft were fitted and 28ft sails. The mill was used as a cafe, an electricity sub-station, the headquarters of first the Lytham Motor Boat Club, then the Lytham Sea Cadets, and finally the Ribble Cruising Club.
Much of the rotten flooring was replaced 1963. Machinery, including a pair of overdrift stones, came from Little Marton Mill in Blackpool and was installed by 1989, when the mill opened as a tourist attraction. The timber boat-shaped cap is in the Fylde style. The mill has an eight blade fantail. 30ft common sails were fitted in 1998. Full registration museum status was awarded in 2001.
Research: PD
reference sources   CEH North
Location

Lytham Mill