timeline item
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
© 2020 Engineering Timelines
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Golden Jubilee (Hungerford) footbridge
each side of Hungerford Bridge, River Thames, London, UK
Golden Jubilee (Hungerford) footbridge
associated engineer
WSP Cantor Seinuk
date  2003
UK era  Modern  |  category  Bridge  |  reference  TQ304803
photo  Jane Joyce
A bridge of two decks, one each side of an existing railway bridge. Designed by competition-winning architects Lifschutz Davidson, Hungerford footbridge takes foot traffic from Charing Cross to the South Bank.
The two parts of the bridge are mirror images of each other. Each has seven inclined steel pylons, leaning away from the rail bridge. They are connected to concrete piers by pinned joints. Fans of steel rods hang from their tops, suspending the concrete decks.
The pylons are held in their leaning positions by rods, or backstays, connected from their tops to circular steel collars placed around the existing caissons of the rail bridge. The collars are tied down to the pylon foundations.
The decks are braced by steel struts, to stop swaying. They were made using a method known as incremental launching. Temporary platforms were erected, the first 50m section cast and a temporary steel truss bolted on. The casting was then pulled out over the river to a temporary pier.
The next section was then cast on and the full length pulled out further, etc. Seven sections in all were cast. Once the deck spanned the river, the pylons were installed.
Achieving the project was no easy feat. Two Underground rail lines affected the location of piles and piling work could only take place at times proscribed by London Underground, as they insisted on closing the flood gates in the tunnels in case of breakthrough. To make things more complicated, unexploded ordnance from WWII had been found in the vicinity.
Construction had also to take into account the two brick piers from Isambard Kingdom Brunel's Hungerford Suspension Bridge (1845), which are extant and form part of John Hawksaw's Charing Cross Rail Bridge (1864).
The upstream bridge opened on 13th May 2002.
Architect: Lifschutz Davidson
Contractor: Costain/Norwest Holst joint venture
"Bridge on the River Thames" by Andy Pearson, Building, 19th April 2002
"The Missing Link" by Rob Gregory, Building Design, November 2002

Golden Jubilee (Hungerford) footbridge