timeline item
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
sign up for our newsletter
© 2018 Engineering Timelines
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Dunston Pillar
200m south of A15/B1178 junction, Waddington
associated engineer
Sir Francis Dashwood
date  1751
era  Georgian  |  category  Lighthouse  |  reference  TF007618
ICE reference number  HEW 1024
Thought to be the only land lighthouse in Britain, Dunston Pillar was built by Sir Francis Dashwood to guide travellors across the heath south of Lincoln.
The 92ft pillar was lit regularly until 1788 when enclosure of the heath and improved roads made the light redundant.
It was a tapering stone tower toppped by a lantern. Sir Francis was the local landowner and he provided refreshments and a pleasure garden at its base.
After 1788 the lighthouse was only used irregularly and in 1810 the Earl of Buckingham replaced the lantern with a statue of George III.
The mason responsible for much of this remodelling work, John Wilson, fell to his death from the pillar.
The statue was removed and the tower shortened during WWII to minimize the flying hazard to aircraft from two nearby bases. The statue now stands in the grounds of Lincoln Castle.
Research: PS
"Civil Engineering heritage: Eastern & Central England"
ed. E.A. Labrum
London, Thomas Telford, 1994
Nikolaus Pevsner + John Harris
London, Penguin, 1989
reference sources   CEH E&C

Dunston Pillar