timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Hobson's Conduit, visible stretch
outside Botanic Gardens, Trumpington Road, Cambridge
associated engineer
Anon
date  1610
era  Stuart  |  category  Water Supply/Pipes  |  reference  TL451571
ICE reference number  HEW 1942
The watercourse now known as Hobson's Conduit ends with lead pipes installed in 1631 to take water from the main 1610 watercourse to Emmanuel and Christ's Colleges.
The Conduit begins at the springs at Nine Wells, about two and a half miles south of Cambridge. It was constructed as a water supply for flushing out the 1265 King's Ditch, a defensive measure provided for Cambridge that later became an open sewer.
By 1610, water flowed to Cambridge from the springs, partly via natural stream (Vicar's Brook) and partly by artificial channel. It falls 8ft in the first 2 miles. By 1614 lead pipes had been put in to supply drinking water to Mill Lane and a fountain in Market Hill (moved to Trumpington Road in 1856).
The artificial channel can be seen between the Botanic Gardens and Trumpington Road. It is spanned here by four small cast iron bridges built locally and installed in 1850 and 1851.
Around 1794, the open runnels along Trumpington Street were moved to the sides of the road and can be seen there today.
reference sources   CEH E&C
Location

Hobson's Conduit, visible stretch