timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Experimental Lighthouse, Trinity Buoy Wharf
Orchard Place, Leamouth, London E14
Experimental Lighthouse, Trinity Buoy Wharf
associated engineer
Sir James Nicholas Douglass
Michael Faraday
date  1863
era  Victorian  |  category  Lighthouse  |  reference  TQ393807
ICE reference number  HEW 2309
photo  Jane Joyce
A polygonal brick lighthouse built against the east wall of the old chain and buoy store building on Trinity Buoy Wharf, former maintenance depot for Trinity House. In this tower Michael Faraday experimented with electric lighting for lighthouses.
The brick tower, London's only lighthouse, is topped by a railed gallery. The lantern sits above, behind diamond-shaped glazed panes. It was made by Campbell, Johnson and Company.
Trinity House, the lighthouse authority for England and wales, closed Trinity Buoy Wharf (see separate entry) in 1988, after 185 years of continuous occupancy. The site is now used for housing and the old buildings are in use as an arts centre.
Contractor: J. F. Stewart
reference sources   CEH Lond
Location

Experimental Lighthouse, Trinity Buoy Wharf