timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Wallingford Bridge
River Thames, Wallingford, Oxfordshire
associated engineer
Anon
date  circa 1220 onwards
era  Medieval  |  category  Bridge  |  reference  SU609895
ICE reference number  HEW 2366
A bridge with a chequered history, four of Wallingford's original early 13th century arches still exist but its 16 other original arches have been through various adventures.
Four arches were knocked down in 1646 during the Civil War when Wallingford Castle was being defended against the Parliamentarians. Timber structures took their place until 1751 when rebuilding took place.
Four river arches were destroyed by Thames floods in 1809 and a fifth was removed. All five were replaced by three larger Bath stone arches and the bridge was widened to the north by 5ft at the same time. The new central arch spans 39ft and the other two span 25ft.
The rest of the bridge is made of flints, stone, rubble, brickwork and some dressed stone. The four original arches were extensively repaired in the 16th century.
reference sources   BBCEH Lond
Location

Wallingford Bridge