timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Caversham Bridge
Caversham Road, Reading
associated engineer
LG Mouchel & Partners
date  March 1924 - 25th June 1926
era  Modern  |  category  Bridge  |  reference  SU710746
ICE reference number  HEW 2180
The later of a pair of reinforced concrete bridges constructed using the Mouchel-Hennebique system that cross the River Thames at Reading. The earlier is one Reading Bridge.
Caversham Bridge replaced a not particularly noteworthy wrought and cast iron one of 1868. When most of Caversham became part of Reading in 1911, the idea of widening it was considered but it didn't lend itself to necessary alterations and it was decided to replace it.
The bridge uses an island in the middle of the river for its central pier. Historically, here stood a chapel of St Anne, and the chapel's foundations were discovered during the building of the new bridge. They were removed for safekeeping.
The south span of Caversham Bridge is 126ft 4in and the north 104ft 6in. Its width between parapets is 56ft and its 360ft long. It cost 71,000 to build. It was opened by HRH the Prince of Wales on 25th June 1926.
Contractors: Holloway Brothers
reference sources   BBCEH E&C
Location

Caversham Bridge