timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Spurn Point Lighthouse (1895)
Spurn Head, East Riding of Yorkshire
associated engineer
Sir Thomas Matthews
date  circa 1895
era  Victorian  |  category  Lighthouse  |  reference  TA402112
ICE reference number  HEW 296
The current lighthouse on Spurn Head was designed by Thomas Matthews. It is 120ft high and constructed of Staffordshire blue brick. Its walls are 4ft 10in thick at the base and 2ft 9in thick at the top.
A number of structures preceeded Matthews' tower. The first was built in 1427. A coal fire provided its light source. Various other towers were tried until 1771-6, during which time a 90ft lighthouse designed by Smeaton was built.
Spurn Head is a three and half mile long spit composed of sand and gravel that protects the Humber Estuary. Since the lighthouses were founded on sand, their life span was short. Smeaton's tower had to be shored up and was eventually demolished in 1895.
Thomas Matthews was chief engineer for Trinity House.
reference sources   CEH E&C
Location

Spurn Point Lighthouse (1895)