timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Stourport-on-Severn Canal Terminus
Stourport-on-Severn
associated engineer
James Brindley
date  1770 - 1812
era  Georgian  |  category  Canal/Navigation works  |  reference  SO811711
Two terminal basins and a warehouse situated at the southern end of the Staffordshire and Worcestershire Canal. The basins were constructed 30ft above the River Severn, so as not to be affected by floods.
The easterly basin, called the Upper Basin, was built first and opened in 1770. Wide barge locks connected it with the river. A second basin, connected to the river by narrow locks, opened 11 years later.
Between the two basins stands the Clock Warehouse, a red-brick, two-storey building with a slate roof. This structure, 126ft long and 25ft wide with a single-storey lean-to added later, was built as a store for grain and general goods. The exact date is unknown but the four-faced clock was installed in 1812, and occupies a timber copula at the centre of the ridge roof. The building is now used by a yacht club.
reference sources   LG/SJ
Location

Stourport-on-Severn Canal Terminus