timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Prestatyn Station
Bridge Road, Prestatyn, Denbighshire, Wales, UK
associated engineer
Not known
date  26th August 1895 - 28th February 1897, 1901, 1979, 2011
era  Victorian  |  category  Building  |  reference  SJ063831
ICE reference number  HEW 1208
Prestatyn, on the north Wales coast, has one of the few remaining prefabricated station buildings of the late 19th century. Largely rebuilt (1979) in the original style, the station is located on an island between platforms and remains in daily use.
Prestatyn is on the Chester & Holyhead Railway (CHR), which was constructed 1845-50 during the tenure of its chief engineer Robert Stephenson (1803-59). When the twin-track line to Bangor opened on 1st May 1848, Prestatyn Station was housed in a slate-roofed two-storey brick building and adjacent shed on the westbound platform, about 100m east of the present station.
On 1st January 1859, the CHR became part of the London & North Western Railway (LNWR), which connected London with Ireland via the ferry at Holyhead. The route was so well used that by 1895 four rail tracks, extra platforms and additional station facilities were needed. Three prefabricated modular station buildings were constructed, of which the existing station is the sole survivor.
The 3.4m wide and 2m long modules are of a type used to create single-storey buildings on all the local rail lines, and were manufactured at the Crewe works of the LNWR. It’s likely that Francis William Webb (1836-1906), chief mechanical engineer of the LNWR, was involved with their design.
The prefabricated units were supported on timber trestles founded on a 600mm thick concrete slab with brick footings, fireplaces and chimneys where required. The structural frames and 1.1m deep valences were also of timber, and rusticated boarding faced the external walls. The pitched roofs were clad in Countess slate, with chimneybreasts of Staffordshire blue bricks.
The extant station building was constructed for the south-easterly, or ‘up’, line (to Chester) and had a timber beam canopy on the south side. It featured a 6m canopy on the west side (with skylight) and accommodated three 6m rooms with fireplaces, plus lavatory facilities. It opened on 28th February 1897, and the original station building closed the same day. A similar prefabricated structure was located on the ‘down’ line (to Holyhead) in 1898. Another platform had a third building of the same type.
In 1901, works were undertaken that resulted in the platform of the 'up' building becoming an island between sets of railway tracks. At the same time, another canopy was added to the north side of the structure. The canopies are timber framed and supported on cast iron brackets.
Prestatyn Station was extensively renovated in 1979, keeping its original style. The skylight in the canopy at the west end was replaced by a flat roof. The four rail tracks were reduced to two in the 1980s, and the other two prefabricated buildings were demolished at an unknown date.
In January 1997, the brick-built former station buildings received Grade II listing.
In autumn 2011, the station was modernised. Work included the construction of a new footbridge, the installation of a lift and the repaving of platform areas to improve access for those with reduced mobility.
Contractor: Hinson Brothers
Contractor (1901): Parnell & Son
Contractor (1979): British Rail
Contractor (2011): Network Rail
Research: ECPK
bibliography
www.coflein.gov.uk
www.disused-stations.org.uk
www.ice.org.uk
www.networkrail.co.uk
www.nwrail.org.uk
reference sources   CEH W&W
Location

Prestatyn Station