timeline item
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
This entry was funded by
More like this
sign up for our newsletter
© 2018 Engineering Timelines
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Gramophone Company Building
Hayes, Middlesex
Gramophone Company Building
associated engineer
A. Henderson
Sir Owen Williams
date  1913
era  Modern  |  category  Factory/Industrial Plant  |  reference  TQ105793
photo  Owen Williams archive, part of Amey plc
The first factory project in which we know Owen Williams had a hand, designed while he was working for the UK subsidiary of the American-owned Trussed Concrete Steel Company (known as Truscon). Williams later claimed to have produced the design single-handed.
Originally used as the machine shop, it is a typically severe, functional concrete structure, six storeys high and 12 bays long, and of post and beam construction. It stands at the centre of a complex of buildings between the canal and railway. A water tower stands high above the building at one end.
The building has an exposed concrete frame an brick infill walls to cill height, with metal framed windows above. The end walls are exposed concrete, inset 6in to allow the frame to be expressed.
Architect: Arthur Blomfield
Chief engineer: A. Henderson
Research: LG, JJ
reference sources   OW

Gramophone Company Building