timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Chatham Dockyard Machine Shops
Chatham, Kent
associated engineer
Fox Henderson & Co
date  1845 - 1848
era  Victorian  |  category  Building  |  reference  TQ762700
ICE reference number  HEW 1609
The iron-framed Boiler Shop and No.8 Machine Shop which stand at Chatham are two of three workshops moved there from Woolwich Dockyard in 1869, when Woolwich Docks were closed.
The third structure, a machine shop, was dismantled in 1992 despite being a Grade II listed building.
Of the two remaining, the Boiler Shop is most similar to the missing building, which measured 290ft by 142ft in plan. The frame is of cast-iron columns, spaced 29ft apart and braced with wrought iron lattice girders, and the corrugated sheeting-clad roof is supported by N-Type iron trusses. The Boiler Shop is distinctive for its clock tower.
The other remaining structure, the No.8 Machine Shop, is the smallest and oldest moved from Woolwich.
It measures 218ft long by 118ft wide by 64ft high. The main span is 72ft, flanked by side spans of 22ft each. The roof frame is supported on cast-iron columns, 24in x 12in in section, and spaced 14ft apart. Wrought iron jib struts project from these, supporting the roof's triangulated trussing.
reference sources   LG/SJ
Location

Chatham Dockyard Machine Shops