timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Deeping Gate Bridge
River Welland, Deeping Gate, Peterborough, UK
Deeping Gate Bridge
associated engineer
Not known
date  1651
era  Stuart  |  category  Bridge  |  reference  TF150095
ICE reference number  HEW 63
photo   Dave Hitchborne and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence
A limestone bridge of three segmental arches over the River Welland, built just after the English Civil War. The central arch was later rebuilt with engineering brick. It remains in use by road traffic, subject to weight restriction.
Deeping Gate Bridge was constructed in 1651 according to the date on its south west cutwater, which was a period of political uncertainty at the end of the English Civil War (1642-51). The bridge crosses the River Welland on the boundary between Cambridgeshire (to the south) and Lincolnshire (to the north), and lies on the course of the Stamford Canal.
The canal, consisting of two stretches of river navigation linked by a new cut, was under construction from 1623, with most of the work carried out circa 1663-70. The bridge is part of the 3.2km eastern navigation between Low Lock (TF164089) in Deeping St James and the canal cut (TF136099) at the west end of Market Deeping.
The bridge's construction is conservative in engineering terms but distinctive architecturally. The spans are 5.6m, 5.8m and 5.6m, with a maximum rise of 2.5m at the central span, making almost semicircular arches. The arches are articulated by double chamfered voussoir rings.
The abutments are of ashlar and coursed rubble. The two piers have triangular cutwaters on each side, with refuges provided at road level by the vertical continuations of the cutwaters.
The elevations are marked by bands of ashlar masonry at road level, topped by coursed rubble parapet walls with rounded copings. The bridge has no separate footpath and is 4m wide between parapets, or 4.3m overall.
The structure was originally of Barnack limestone, though at some point the vault of the central span was rebuilt in engineering brick.
The bridge is a Scheduled Ancient Monument (No.151) and situated in a conservation area. It was Grade II* listed in May 1952, citation amended in February 1982 and June 1987. Now carrying the B1162, it has an imposed vehicle weight limit of 7.5 tonnes.
Research: ECPK
bibliography
www.historicengland.org.uk
www.ice.org
www.slha.org.uk
www.transporttrust.com
reference sources   CEH E&C
Location

Deeping Gate Bridge