timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Turnford Pumping Station, the New River
Canada Lane, Turnford, Hertfordshire, UK
associated engineer
William Chadwell Mylne
date  1870
era  Victorian  |  category  Water Supply/Pipes  |  reference  TL358044
ICE reference number  HEW 1925
One of the well-pumping stations built alongside London's New River in the 19th century to augment the water supply from the springs at Chadwell and Amwell and the River Lee. Turnford Pumping Station abstracted water from a deep well in the chalk and discharged it into the man-made New River, the construction of which was begun in the 17th century.
The two principal pumping station buildings are of red brick with stone dressings, and have shallow-pitch hipped slate roofs. The tower over the 55m deep well is equipped with lifting tackle and is of sufficient height to enable the pump rods to be lifted out. The engine house is the last one on the New River still to contain a steam engine (not in use but retained for historical interest).
The twin beam steam engine, built by Boulton & Watt in 1845, is a single cylinder jet condensing the side-lever marine type with a 4.57m diameter flywheel with a connecting rod (‘pitman’) driving a bell-crank lever over the well. It was installed originally in 1848 at the New River Company’s Hampstead Road well, begun in March 1835. The engine was brought here in 1871.
In August 1882, a second steam pumping engine was installed on its own girder over the well, but was subsequently removed when electrification took place in 1953. It was a vertical single cylinder engine built by Richard Moreland & Son, London.
Thames Water no longer uses Turnford Pumping Station — there are two operational stations nearby at Nursery Road and Robertson Close — and the buildings are now owned privately.
Architect: John Johnson
Contractor: Kelk Lucas & Co
Research: ECPK
bibliography
"On the Supply of Water from Artesian Wells in the London Basin, with an Account of the Sinking of the Well at the Reservoir of the New River Company, in the Hampstead Road" by R.W. Mylne and W.C. Mylne, in ICE Transactions, Vol.3, pp.229-244, London, January 1840
www.pastscape.org.uk
reference sources   CEH Lond
Location

Turnford Pumping Station, the New River