timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Lord's Cricket Ground Mound Stand (1987)
St John's Wood Rd, St John's Wood, London NW8, UK
associated engineer
Ove Arup & Partners
John Thornton
Peter Rice
date  16th September 1985 - 17th June 1987, 2005 - 2006
era  Modern  |  category  Stadium/Arena/Pool  |  reference  TQ268827
Lordís Cricket Ground is owned by Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), and is widely regarded as the home of British cricket. The famous, and tiny, Ashes urn is kept here. The original late Victorian Mound Stand is named after the clay mound over which it was built. The stand was refurbished and the iconic tented roof added in 1987 for Lordís bicentennial year. It seats almost 5,000 spectators.
Lordís Mound Stand forms the south eastern quadrant of buildings around the cricket pitch. The original structure was designed by architect Frank Verity (1864-1937) in 1898-9. Its footprint is about 100m long and 12m wide, and the northern half is curved in plan.
The old stand was in three parts ó a terrace of seating next to the pitch (over the mound), a brick structure supporting the terrace and beyond that a roadway next to the boundary wall. The southern (straight) half of the terrace extended over the roadway.
Construction of the bicentenary work took place over the 1985-87 closed seasons (end of September to beginning of April). The original stand was retained and refurbished ó saving time and money over demolishing and rebuilding ó and a new steel frame structure added above it, making a layered stand with public seating, debenture areas, hospitality boxes and associated facilities. The 1932 steel and asbestos cement roof was removed and replaced by a fabric canopy.
Michael Hopkins & Partners and Arup's Building Engineering Group 7 designed the new structure. It has six layers ó the ground level brick support structure, the terrace, the lower promenade, the mezzanine floor (main structural zone and plant room), the upper promenade and the fabric roof.
Before work began, the pitch's turf near the stand was removed so that the main steelwork could be installed from a mobile crane running on a track laid in front of the terrace. The turf was preserved, but had to be relaid before the roof was erected. Roof sections were craned in from paved areas of the Lord's ground and from St John's Wood Road.
The boundary wall of the original stand had seven brick arches on the curve and an unbroken brick wall next to the roadway. The solid part was demolished and replaced by 18 new brick arches, of similar appearance to the existing ones and founded on piles. The roadway was re-aligned to run inside the colonnade of arches over the full length of the stand. The terrace was refurbished and new seats fixed in time to re-open the stand for use during the 1986 cricket season (mid April to mid September).
Work recommenced in the 1986 closed season with the new steel structure over the terrace, which supports the lower promenade. The structure has a plate girder spine beam supported by six columns 18.3m apart, with lattice truss rib beams at 3.66m centres cantilevered from either side of the spine. Steel members are sized to act as compression struts under extreme loading. Stability is provided by tie-downs at the columns and cross-bracing at each end of the stand and along the rear elevation.
The lower promenade has a precast concrete plank deck with in situ concrete slab top carried on exposed steel beams, also at 3.66m centres. The mezzanine floor and upper promenade are profiled metal deck overlaid with lightweight concrete. Stairs are of galvanized pressed metal. Glass screens at upper promenade level provide draught protection, though the structure is not heated or insulated ó it's designed for summer use.
The canopy roof is formed from a series of 11 'tents' at 18.3m centres. The tents are made of PVC-coated polyester.
Each tent has a central vertical mast extending above the fabric and connecting with a network of cables that pull the fabric under tension into the finished shape. The front and side edges of the fabric are attached to galvanized catenary boundary cables, forming 3.66m wide scallops. The catenary cables are attached to booms projecting horizontally from the masts. The rear scalloped edges are attached to a frame.
The Duke of Edinburgh opened the new Lordís Mound Stand for the 1987 cricket season. The project cost £4.5m.
By 2005, the canopy fabric had exceeded its predicted design life of 15 years and needed to be replaced. The existing roof was surveyed and digitally modelled before being dismantled, so that the new roof could replicate the contours. Access to all areas of the roof was difficult ó scaffolding would have been impractical and expensive ó so the work was carried out from working platform nets slung below the canopy.
The old fabric was removed and later recycled at a specialist factory in France. The new fabric is PVC with PVDF coating, and designed to last longer than the original. The whole 1,400 sq m was made and installed in one piece ó an improvement over the original, which was joined in sections by metal fixings. The new canopy was attached to the steel frame with new fittings and all the structural steelwork was repainted. All work was completed in the 2005-6 closed season.
Architect (1898-9): Frank Verity
Architect: Michael Hopkins & Partners
Contractor: Higgs & Hill Management Contracting Ltd
Quantity surveyor: Davis Belfield & Everest
Structural steelwork: Claus Queck
Fabric roof: Koitwerk Herbert Koch
3D roof model (2005-6): Tony Hogg Design Ltd
Steelwork refurbishment (2005-6): Armadillo Engineering
Roof refurbishment (2005-6): Base Structures Ltd
Fabric supply (2005-6): Serge Ferrari
Research: ECPK
bibliography
"Lordís Mound Stand" by John Thornton, in Arup Journal, Vol.22, Ove Arup Partnership, London, Autumn 1987
www.basestructures.com
www.hopkins.co.uk
www.lords.org
www.nce.co.uk
www.tonyhoggdesign.co.uk
reference sources   AEI
Location

Lord's Cricket Ground Mound Stand (1987)