timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
This entry was funded by
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Dalginross Bridge
River Earn, Dalginross, Perth and Kinross, Scotland, UK
Dalginross Bridge
associated engineer
Sir William Arrol & Co. Ltd
Adam Hunter
date  1904 - 1905
era  Modern  |  category  Bridge  |  reference  NN772219
ICE reference number  HEW 2584
photo   and licensed for reuse under this
A constrained cantilever steel bridge across the River Earn, designed and built by Sir William Arrol & Co, in accordance with local authorityloading and height regulations. It is a listed structure and was the first bridge of its type built in Britain. The bridge remains in daily use as a link between the villages of Comrie and Dalginross.
Arrol engineers designed the bridge. James Tuit was a director at the time but he suffered from ill health and, possibly because of this, Adam Hunter became Acting Chief Engineer in March 1904. A blueprint of the bridge dated 26th February 1904 is signed J.E. Tuit, Director, drawn by A.G. Harrison and checked by A. Hunter.
Dalginross Bridge has an overall length of 61m and contains 185 tonnes of steel. It has two anchor spans of 15.9m each and a cantilevered centre span of 26.2m. The interest lies in the two cantilevers of the main span, which meet at a central pin joint without the more usual suspended span joining their ends. This form gives maximum slenderness at mid span, and offers a convenient location for a movement joint.
The main structure consists of four tapering plate girders carrying the roadway, with footways cantilevered from the side girders on brackets. The plate girders have curved soffits, giving the bridge a slender appearance, now somewhat marred by service pipes. There are wrought iron parapet railings on each side.
The steel superstructure rests on piers and abutments of sandstone masonry. The two river piers are founded on caissons 7.8m long, 1.8m wide and 3m deep.
The bridge was designated a Category C(S) listed building in October 1977. It was strengthened and refurbished in 2000, when additional girders were inserted between the originals without changing the appearance. This work won a commendation in the Conservation Category of the 2001 Saltire Civil Engineering Awards.
Architect: Charles Scott & Partners
Contractor: Sir William Arrol & Co Ltd
Research: ECPK
bibliography
http://canmore.rcahms.gov.uk
www.nce.co.uk
www.saltiresociety.org.uk
reference sources   CEH SLB
Location

Dalginross Bridge