timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
York Station
Station Road, York, UK
associated engineer
Not known
date  1874 - 25th June 1877
era  Victorian  |  category  Building  |  reference  SE595517
ICE reference number  HEW 239
York Station was built as part of the infrastructure of the North Eastern Railway, with through trains for the first time at York. It is complex of train shed, station buildings and an hotel. At the time, it was the largest railway station in the world.
The major structure is the train shed. This is built on a sharp curve, with three rows of cast iron columns supporting wrought iron girders. The side walls are of brick, and the plan length of the shed varies between 228.6m and 259.1m.
The main span between columns is 24.7m, with the other three spans at 13.7m, 16.8m and 17.5m. There are almost 100 columns in six different sizes spaced at up to 9.4m centres longitudinally. Each column has a 685mm octagonal base with a circular shaft tapering from 530mm to 455mm in diameter and topped with decorative acanthus leaves.
Girders with arched soffits connect the columns along the train shed and are 610mm deep at the column tops. Above these are fretted cast iron panels. Bowed plate girders with pierced webs span between columns across the tracks and platforms. These ribs have a rise of about one third of their span, with a depth at the crown of 355-455mm. They are spaced so that every third one rests on a column, while the intermediate pair rests on the longitudinal girders.
Originally, the roof was framed in timber and covered with a mixture of slate and saw-tooth glazing. The latter has been replaced with patent glazing, and the wooden glazing bars replaced with aluminium ones. The roof is 12.8m above the platforms.
The station hotel (now the Royal York Hotel) opened in 1878.
York Station had 13 platforms when it opened two more were added in 1909. In 1938 the station was re-signalled and a footbridge was built. This now connects to the National Railway Museum housed in the former goods depot. Extensive repairs took place in 1947 to repair damage sustained in World War II.
In 1988, the track layout was modified and more re-signalling was done to prepare for electrification of the East Coast Main Line. Some platforms were taken out of service. The station approaches were refurbished in 2006-7. More renovation took place in 2009 and Platform 9 was reconstructed.
Architect (up to 1874): Thomas Prosser
Architect (1874-6): Benjamin BurleighMain Contractor: John Keswick
Research: ECPK
bibliography
www.historyofyork.org.uk
www.ice.org.uk
reference sources   CEH North
Location

York Station