timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Stray Park Mine
Stray Park Road, Camborne, Cornwall
associated engineer
Richard Trevithick
date  late 1700s - August 1870
era  Georgian  |  category  Mining/Quarrying  |  reference  SW652398
Located on the site now to the south of the mainline railway at Camborne, Stray Park Mine is now all but gone: little surface evidence remains. It was an 18th and 19th century copper and tin mine, notable for the two Richard Trevithicks who worked there, father and son.
The mine land was held by the Basset family, owners of Tehidy House (SW654434) in Camborne. At the end of the 18th century, Stray Park Mine amalgated with Wheal Gons. It mined ores from two north easterly lodes, via two shafts.
Richard Trevithick senior (1735-97) was mine captain, or manager, of several mines in the district, including this one and Dolcoath (SW661403) to the north east. Between March 1790 and March 1792, his son the well-known (later) steam pioneer Richard Trevithick (1771-1833) joined the workforce as an engineer in the eastern part of the mine, earning up to 30 shillings (£1.50) per month.
Between 1800 and 1802, the younger Trevithick erected two steam whim (winding) engines at Stray Park Mine. The first was a beam condensing engine that later worked at Camborne Vean Mine (SW652398) from 1832. The second was a horizontal non-condensing — or ‘puffer’ — engine that was controlled with a four-way stopcock and had a horizontal cylinder set into the boiler.
Stray Park acquired Camborne Vean in about 1840 and Wheal Francis in 1847. However, the combined mines lost money in 1854 and 1855, so in 1856 the three mines returned to separate operation.
In 1827 the Stray Park’s output was 1,350 tonnes of copper ore. Between 1829 and 1856 it produced 39,230 tonnes of copper ore, 600 tonnes of black tin and 43 tonnes of pyrites.
In 1857, the mine managers applied to John Francis Basset (1831-69), who had inherited the Tehidy estate in 1855, for a new lease on the mine to enable them to drive deeper shafts in search of tin more than 256m from the surface.
After four years’ work to drain and refurbish the main Machine (Engine) Shaft, tin mining began. Two new steam engines were installed — a 1.63m diameter cylinder pumping engine and a 610mm diameter cylinder whim engine.
The mine’s debts were reduced but cash flow problems persisted. In 1864 the mine was linked with Dolcoath Mine at the 393m below ground level. However, during winter 1868 the mine was flooded during an accident. In August 1870, Stray Park Mine was offered for sale, and was bought by Dolcoath for almost £2,000 the following year.
Research: ECPK
bibliography
“Richard Trevithick: Giant of Steam” by Anthony Burton
Aurum Press Ltd, London, 2000
"A History of Copper Mining in Cornwall and Devon” by D.B. Barton
D. Bradford Barton Ltd, Truro, 2nd edition 1968
“Cornish Mining: Notes from the Account Book of Richard Trevithick, Senior” by Arthur Titley, in Transactions of the Newcomen Society, London, 17th December 1930
“Life of Richard Trevithick, with an account of his inventions”
by Francis Trevithick, E. & F.N. Spon, London, 1872
www.mindat.org
Location

Stray Park Mine