timeline item
Results
Here is the information we have
on the item you selected
More like this
NEW SEARCH
| |
sign up for our newsletter
© 2017 Engineering Timelines
engineering-timelines@severalworld.co.uk
engineering timelines
explore ... how   explore ... why   explore ... where   explore ... who  
home  •  NEWS  •  search  •  FAQs  •  references  •  about  •  sponsors + links
Hazeldine & Co iron foundry, site of
Brandon Lane, Low Town, Bridgnorth, Shropshire, UK
associated engineer
Richard Trevithick
John Urpeth Rastrick
date  circa 1792 - 1843
era  Georgian  |  category  Factory/Industrial Plant  |  reference  SO719932
The county of Shropshire was at the centre of the Industrial Revolution in England, and Hazeldine & Co., which was set up around 1792, was one of the many foundries established there. The Hazeldine foundry became famous for the construction of Richard Trevithick’s London rail locomotive Catch-me-who-can. Unfortunately, no trace of the foundry remains and the site is now mostly parkland.
Hazeldine (or Hazledine) & Co. was set up in Bridgnorth by three brothers of the Hazeldine family — John (1760-1810), Robert (1768-1837) and Thomas (1771-1842). The ironworks was located on a 0.8ha site between the east bank of the River Severn north of the bridge (Bridge Street, now the B4363) and Mill Street. The fourth brother, William Hazeldine (1763-1840), established a flourishing independent ironworks business in Shrewsbury and worked with engineer Thomas Telford (1757-1834), among others.
At first the foundry produced agricultural machinery. Under John Hazeldine’s leadership the company gained a countrywide reputation for the quality of its castings. Though declared bankrupt in 1797, he reached some accommodation with his creditors and patented a mill for rolling metal bars in 1798.
At first, Trevithick (1771-1833) used the Coalbrookdale foundry (SJ665050) in Shropshire — initially for parts of his first road locomotive Puffing Devil. In about 1803 he decided to try Hazeldine & Co. They cast an engine for him to be used in a dredger, and by 1804 there were seven Trevithick engines being manufactured at the Bridgnorth foundry. In about 1805 they completed a stationary engine labelled “No.14”, now preserved at the Science Museum in London, and two more engines for steam dredgers — Blazer and Plymouth.
In 1807-8, the foundry built Trevithick’s third rail locomotive Catch-me-who-can, supervised by Northumberland engineer John Urpeth Rastrick (1780-1856) who joined the company after 1806. The two engineers were also working together on the Thames Driftway in London around the same time.
After 1807 problems with the foundry's creditors resurfaced. Despite the financial difficulties, Rastrick ensured that the quality of the foundry’s work remained high. They carried out work for Simon Goodrich (1773-1847) of the Navy Board in 1811-12, including a copper rolling mill and a mine engine.
More work for Trevithick followed in October 1812 with rock breaking engines for Plymouth breakwater. The foundry also took over casting an engine destined for a West Indian sugar cane plantation in St Kitts from Harvey & Co. at Hayle in Cornwall. In 1814 this engine was sent to Peru rather than the West Indies, along with eight others built at Bridgnorth — the foundry’s first export order.
Trevithick later ordered several engines for threshing and pumping. In 1815 the foundry made a plunger pole engine for Herland mine in Cornwall. However, Hazeldine & Co.'s association with Trevithick ceased the next year, when he travelled to South America, and was not reactivated on his return in 1827.
The company was involved in the construction of Chepstow Bridge (ST536943) in 1815-16, which was designed by Rastrick, though William Hazeldine’s company did some of the casting. By this time, Rastrick and the Hazeldine brothers were not enjoying a good working relationship, and they disagreed about the bridge. Perhaps the situation was not helped by Rastrick’s habit of keeping coded design details of the various projects in a private notebook.
Senior partner John Hazeldine died on 28th October 1810, and Rastrick served as managing partner from July 1811 to February 1812. The firm was known as Hazeldine, Rastrick & Co. until 1814, when Thomas Davies (John’s brother-in-law) and Alexander Brodie (1732-1811) joined the partnership. Rastrick left in 1817 and worked on his own in West Bromwich before joining John Foster in business at Stourbridge. The Bridgnorth foundry reverted to Hazeldine & Co.
Work at the foundry stopped in the early 1820s — Davies and Robert Hazeldine were declared bankrupt in 1823. It re-opened in 1824 with trade resuming by 1827, undertaking work in the locality. Some of the foundry’s property was offered for sale in 1829 and 1830, and the remaining property was divided in half and sold in 1834 and 1835. There was a lawsuit in Chancery in 1837.
Robert’s son John Hazeldine (1796-1843) continued to work as an iron founder from premises facing Bridge Street until his death, when the Hazeldine firm finally came to an end. Members of the Pope family continued some foundry work on part of the original site until about 1914 but they had no connection with the Hazeldines.
In November 1949, Trevithick and Rastrick were commemorated on a bronze plaque attached to the red brick clock tower at the east end of the bridge (SO719930) over the River Severn on Bridge Street. The text reads —
"TO THE MEMORY OF TWO GREAT ENGINEERS RICHARD TREVITHICK B. 1771 - D. 1833 INVENTOR OF THE HIGH PRESSURE STEAM ENGINE AND JOHN URPETH RASTRICK B. 1780 - D. 1856 GREAT RAILWAY ENGINEER. NEAR THIS SPOT IN HAZELDINE'S FOUNDRY RASTRICK BUILT IN 1808 TO TREVITHICK'S DESIGN THE WORLD'S FIRST PASSENGER LOCOMOTIVE ENGINE”.
To mark the bicentenary of Catch-me-who-can another plaque was unveiled in Bandon Lane. It carries an illustration of the locomotive and the text —
"ON THIS SITE STOOD HAZLEDINE'S FOUNDRY WHERE IN 1808 WAS BUILT THE WORLD'S FIRST STEAM LOCOMOTIVE TO HAUL FEE-PAYING PASSENGERS. THIS ENGINE WAS DESIGNED BY RICHARD TREVITHICK, ENGINEERED BY JOHN RASTRICK AND BUILT BY THE FOUNDRY WORKERS OF BRIDGNORTH. THIS PLAQUE WAS ERECTED BY BRIDGNORTH CIVIC SOCIETY FUNDED MAINLY BY MEMBER MRS. CHRISTINA HOLDER AND ADDITIONALLY BY: BRIDGNORTH TOWN COUNCIL, BRIDGNORTH DISTRICT COUNCIL, BRIDGNORTH TOURIST ASSOCIATION IN JULY 2008”.
Research: ECPK
bibliography
"Rastrick, John Urpeth (1780–1856)” by G.C. Boase, rev. M.W. Kirby, in Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, Oxford University Press, 2004
“Richard Trevithick: Giant of Steam” by Anthony Burton
Aurum Press Ltd, London, 2000
“A Survey of Tank Boilers down to 1850” by R.J. Law, in Transactions of the Newcomen Society, London, 8th December 1976
“Trevithick, Rastrick and the Hazeldine Foundry, Bridgnorth” by S. Morley Tonkin, in Transactions of the Newcomen Society, London, 12th January 1949
“Richard Trevithick: the engineer and the man” by H.W. Dickinson and Arthur Titley, Cambridge University Press, London, 1934
“Trevithick and Rastrick and the Single-Expansive Engine” by Arthur Titley, in Transactions of the Newcomen Society, London, 26th January 1927
“Life of Richard Trevithick, with an account of his inventions”
by Francis Trevithick, E. & F.N. Spon, London, 1872
www.discovershropshire.org.uk
www.thefreelibrary.com
Location

Hazeldine & Co iron foundry, site of